I haven’t updated this as regularly as I could have done, but this is my final post relating to my internship this year. I couldn’t tell you how many I’ve done. I couldn’t tell you what I said in most of them. But it has been an absolute joy and privilege, and looking back I’m so glad that I did it.

I’ve learned so much. Not only through what I’ve read but through the conversations I’ve had. The discussions. Through all that I’ve been taught in and about the church. Life skills and good advice. Mentors, spiritual mentors and friends. I’ve been pushed and challenged, had to spend a lot of time on trains. Done lots of reading. Lots of church services.

I’ve preached and led services and assemblies. I’ve went on mission and had a laugh and given testimony. I’ve taught and been taught, organised prayer stations and walks. Went on visits, experienced funerals. I’ve reflected a lot, on character, culture, leadership and discipleship. I’ve pushed and challenged, asked questions. I’ve put together services and had interviews. I’ve journeyed with a group of people I’d never met before, and I’d do it again. It wasn’t my plan, but it was a good idea. And I’m better for it.

A massive thank you to all who have helped me this year, either through hosting and teaching or through conversations, lifts and admin details. I might post in some more detail on what happens next, but I’m off to train for ordination!

Leave a Reply

