I haven’t written a blog in a couple of weeks. The reasons for this are twofold: 1) I forgot about it! and 2) there hasn’t be lots going on. One of those points is truer than the other, but it is true to say that I’ve entered a phase where I can focus more and more on parish work and that has meant more admin, preparation, service planning and so on.

I don’t want to sound as though I’m suggesting that this isn’t noteworthy or interesting – it’s what I’m here to do! – but it can be hard sometimes to think of what to comment on. One point worth mentioning, however, was the recent Thy Kingdom Come prayer week, which was held during the 10 days between Ascension Day and Pentecost. I was tasked with organising some prayer walks over the past week or so which was fun to do and I had a nice time chatting with people on the walks, discussing the needs of the area and praying for the communities that we find ourselves in. What was more challenging was the prayer event with Bishop Paul that we had at St Nicholas Church on Ascension Day.

I was asked to prepare prayer stations. No big deal, right? Well when I got to the event and it was all done, I sort of wondered what I’d been worried about. But the actual logistics of making this happen was something that I found to be quite stressful and it was interesting to notice something that is a bit of a weakness in my experience. I’m not talking about admin here, but rather ‘crafty’ details: where will the signs telling people what to do be? How much space will I have, where will I put things? A3 or A4 sheets? Big maps – how on earth do you use a photocopier? These might seem like small things but after doing it all (and undoubtedly complaining way too much along the way) I had a real sense of achievement because I’d done something that I’d never done before. The end result was good, but I never want to see a sheet of A3 paper again.

Leave a Reply

